梅斯克尔

"梅斯克尔"Ge'ez翻译的意思是"十字架",梅斯克尔是一年一度的宗教节日在埃塞俄比亚和厄立特里亚东正教教堂,纪念发现的真正的交叉通过的罗马皇后赫勒拿(圣赫勒拿)的第四世纪。 梅斯克尔发生的17Meskerem在埃塞俄比亚的日历(九月27日历,或在28日在闰年)。

 

赫勒拿皇后是母亲的皇帝君士坦丁大帝,出生在Drepanum(赫利奥波利斯)来的父母的卑微的装置。 她结婚了Constantius Chlorus,他们的儿子君士坦丁出生在274. Constantius离婚,她在294到进一步的政治野心,嫁给一个女人的崇高职级。 之后,他成为了皇帝君士坦丁显示了他母亲的巨大荣誉和尊重,给予她的皇的标题是"奥古斯塔。"

之后,君士坦丁大帝成为唯一的统治者西方的罗马帝国,他颁布了该法令的米兰313保证宗教宽容的基督徒。 皇后海伦娜,他是一个基督徒,可能影响了他在这个决定。 在323,当时,他成为唯一的统治者的整个罗马帝国,他扩展的规定,该法令对米兰来的东半的帝国。 经过三百年来迫害,基督徒最终能够实践自己的信仰,没有恐惧。

皇帝康斯坦丁深深的尊敬的标志基督的十字架,并希望找到实际交后,基督被钉在十字架上。 他送了他的妈妈,海伦,耶路撒冷,提供她的一封信给圣米加利阿斯,主教的耶路撒冷。 虽然皇后海伦娜已经在她的晚年,她设定的有关完成的任务的热情。 在寻找生命的创建交,她质疑基督徒和犹太人,但是她搜索仍然是不成功的。 然而,在326,她是针对老年人的希伯来名叫裘德是谁告诉她的十字架被埋葬在异教神庙的维纳斯. 圣海伦下令,异教寺被拆除。 后祈祷,她开始挖掘的地下被毁的寺庙。 很快,墓基督被发现,而不是远离它是三个十字架,一个板,上面刻着下令由彼拉多,和四甲其中有刺穿的体的基督。 传说,为了确定交叉对其中的救世主已经钉死在十字架上,圣米加利阿斯交替地触动了十字架到一具尸体。 当死人很感动实现真正的基督体来生活。 有看到提高的死了,每个人都深信,生活创造跨被发现。 因为她服务的教会和她努力在寻找生命的创建十字海伦皇后,是所谓的"平等的徒。" 埃塞俄比亚东正教教会的传统还记录,然后族长亚历山德里亚给予埃塞俄比亚皇帝达维特一半的交叉作为回报保护科普特基督徒。 一个片段的十字被认为是在埃塞俄比亚举行的Gishen Mariam修道院,约100公里(英里)首都北部。

在埃塞俄比亚、梅斯克尔的庆祝活动包括焚烧大的篝火,或Demera,基于信仰的女王Eleni,因为她知道,有一个启示在一个梦想。 她被告知,她不应该使一个篝火和烟雾将显示她真正的交叉被埋葬。 因此,她下令的人的耶路撒冷带来的木头做出了巨大堆。 之后添加乳香到它的篝火点燃的烟雾升高可达天空和返回到地面,准确点在哪里交叉已经被埋葬。 根据当地的传统,这Demera-游行发生在傍晚前一天梅斯克尔或在日本身。 最大的队伍正在'梅斯克尔广场'在埃塞俄比亚首都亚的斯亚贝巴,在那里数十万人,其中许多拿着蜡烛在不光为,群众在露台在广场周围,那里的仪式是由头的埃塞俄比亚的基督教东正教教堂。 柴火被装饰着雏菊之前庆祝活动。 木炭从仍然是火灾之后,收集和使用忠实到标记他们的额头上有十字的形状的。 许多人认为,它"标志的最终采取行动消除罪恶,而其他人则认的方向,烟雾和最终崩溃的堆中表明的今后活动。 根据埃塞俄比亚东正教教会,在发现真正的交叉传统上被认为已经在三月份,但是梅斯克尔搬到日,以避免保持一个节日期间借出的,因此教堂,纪念真正的交叉在耶路撒冷是专门在九月。

回到主页..............

Translated by Yandex.Translate and Global Translator

Meskel

“Meskel” in Ge’ez translated means “cross”, Meskel is an annual religious holiday in the Ethiopian Orthodox and Eritrean Orthodox churches, which commemorates the discovery of the True Cross by the Roman Empress Helena (Saint Helena) in the fourth century. Meskel occurs on the 17 Meskerem in the Ethiopian calendars (September 27, Gregorian calendar, or on 28 September in leap years).

 

Empress Helena was the mother of Emperor Constantine the Great, and was born at Drepanum (Heliopolis) to parents of humble means. She married Constantius Chlorus, and their son Constantine was born in 274. Constantius divorced her in 294 to further his political ambitions by marrying a woman of noble rank. After he became emperor, Constantine showed his mother great honor and respect, granting her the imperial title “Augusta.”

After Emperor Constantine became the sole ruler of the Western Roman Empire, he issued the Edict of Milan in 313 which guaranteed religious tolerance for Christians. Empress Helena, who was a Christian, may have influenced him in this decision. In 323, when he became the sole ruler of the entire Roman Empire, he extended the provisions of the Edict of Milan to the Eastern half of the Empire. After three hundred years of persecution, Christians could finally practice their faith without fear.

Emperor Constantine deeply revered the Sign of the Cross of Christ, and wanted to find the actual Cross upon which Christ was crucified. He sent his mother, Helen, to Jerusalem, providing her with a letter to St. Macarius, Patriarch of Jerusalem. Although Empress Helena was already in her declining years, she set about completing the task with enthusiasm. In searching for the Life-Creating Cross, she questioned both Christians and Jews, but her search remained unsuccessful. However, in 326, she was directed to an elderly Hebrew named Jude who told her that the Cross was buried at the pagan Temple of Venus. St. Helen ordered that the pagan temple be demolished. After praying, she began excavating the ground beneath the destroyed temple. Soon, the Tomb of Christ was uncovered, and not far from it were three crosses, a board with the inscription ordered by Pilate, and four nails which had pierced the Body of Christ. Legend has it that In order to determine the cross on which the Savior had been crucified, St. Macarius alternately touched the crosses to a corpse. When the dead man was touched by the True Cross of Christ, the body came to life. Having beheld the raising of the dead, everyone was convinced that the Life-Creating Cross was found. Because of her great service to the Church and her efforts in finding the Life-Creating Cross, Empress Helen is called “the Equal of the Apostles.” Ethiopian Orthodox, church tradition also records that the then Patriarch of Alexandria gave Ethiopian Emperor Dawit half of the cross in return for protecting Coptic Christians. A fragment of the cross is believed to be held in Ethiopia’s Gishen Mariam monastery, about 100 km ( miles) north of the capital.

In Ethiopia, The Meskel celebration includes the burning of a large bonfire, or Demera, based on the belief that Queen Eleni, as she is known, had a revelation in a dream. She was told that she should make a bonfire and that the smoke would show her where the true cross was buried. So, she ordered the people of Jerusalem to bring wood and make a huge pile. After adding frankincense to it the bonfire was lit and the smoke rose high up to the sky and returned to the ground, exactly to the spot where the Cross had been buried. According to local traditions, this Demera-procession takes place in the early evening, the day before Meskel or on the day itself. The largest procession being in ‘Meskel Square’ in Ethiopia’s capital Addis Ababa, where tens of thousands of people, many holding up candles in the failing light as the sun set, crowd on terraces around the square where the ceremony is led by the head of Ethiopia’s Christian Orthodox church.  The firewood is decorated with daisies prior to the celebration. Charcoal from the remains of the fire is afterwards collected and used by the faithful to mark their foreheads with the shape of a cross. Many believe that it “marks the ultimate act in the cancellation of sins, while others hold that the direction of the smoke and the final collapse of the heap indicate the course of future events. According to the Ethiopian Orthodox Church, the discovery of the True Cross is traditionally believed to have been in March, but Meskel was moved to September to avoid holding a festival during Lent, thus the church commemorating the True Cross in Jerusalem was dedicated during September.

Return to home page…………..